Final Year Project – XCOM 2 Avenger

Final Year Project – Week One

For my final year project at university I have been given 12 weeks to create a piece which I think shows the best of my skill and everything I have learnt over the last 3 years.

I have decided to create an environment piece in UE4 based on the 2016 strategy game XCOM 2 using a piece of concept art by Piero Macgowan of the bridge of the Avenger.

I started by highlighting the main assets which I will need to create so that I can create an effective plan, I also found a concept art image which show breakouts of some of the assets which will be invaluable throughout the project.

asset-breakdownpiero-macgowan-xcom2-08-room-callouts-avenger-piero-macgowan

The rest of this week will be spent planning on how to effectively use my time, taking into account deadlines and time away. I recently won the King scholarship for women in gaming to attend GDC so I will be away at GDC for one week of the project and will have to be sure that I work around this.

At GDC there is a technical art boot camp which I hope will give me some information I can apply to my FYP.

Leave a Reply

