Final Year Project – Low Poly Asset Creation Pipeline

When it comes to creating the assets for my project I start by trying to break the concept art down in to small pieces instead of trying to model it as one big piece. The way I break things down is by considering how they would be manufactured in the real world. If it would be a separate piece in manufacturing then it should be a modelled separately in 3D.

I used Piero Macgowan’s callout sketches to start modelling the first asset in the scene.

piero-macgowan-xcom2-08-room-callouts-avenger-piero-macgowan.jpg

I chose a sketch of a single console as I thought it would be a relatively simple asset for me to start with and create an efficient pipeline to be used throughout the project.

piero-macgowan-xcom2-08-room-callouts-avenger-piero-macgowan

base_01

I start by blocking out the base shape of the assets, keeping the geometry very basic. This is just so I can get a good stating point to start building from.

Comparison_01.PNG

I gradually build up the geometry of the asset add more detail as I go until I’m fairly happy with the piece.

Once I’m roughly happy with how the piece is looking I begin unwrapping each individual element, when a section is unwrapped I change the colour to green and red when I’ve yet to start it.

Comparison_02.PNG

 

final_02

Leave a Reply

